How to improve accuracy in problem solving?

I am a student of FIITJEE now in 11th std. In the eight weekly tests that we have had so far, I mostly ranked within 10 (out of 500 students). But in the last 2-3 tests, my rank has been slipping - because I lose about 20-40 marks due to 'silly mistakes'. The types of mistakes I make are:

1. not reading the question properly and missing out on important information
  2. replacing + with - signs especially in equations
  3. missing a few numbers while calculating (e.g., missing a denominator)
  4. calculation errors (such as 3^2 = 6)

After each test I analyze my mistakes. I am very concerned that I should not repeat my mistakes. But the problem has not decreased - it has in fact increased over the last 2-3 tests.

Kindly advise on what I need to do to increase accuracy?

I have tried setting a time limit while solving problems at home. But the time is never enough (because the concepts and problems are new). For example, yesterday evening, I wanted to solve 10 problems and set a time limit of 30 mins. But at the end of 30 mins, I could only solve 4 problems!

What should I do?

Please help. Thank you in advance.

Be calm and cool minded. While writing exam., This problem is only due to tension you bear in you mind during exam. Don't expect or concentrate on rank,. cool mindedly solve the problems

1 Like

Thank you very much. Will try my best.

Do time bounded practice..

Thank you.

Hello,
First of all calm down, you have just started your jee journey, there is a long way to go and these are the things every student faces.
As you are learning new concepts, doing it's questions will surely take time if 4 questions are taking 30 minutes time, then start with this deadline, and slowly increase it.
And for improvement upon silly mistakes practice more and more, it will surely improve.